1988 Labor Day Association History
Dues are $4.00 for Labor Day Association members.
Bruce Tremper will be the Labor Day Photographer.
John Maikranz will do the Labor Day Battle.
Evan Bayh has been invited to speak this as our guest speaker.
Discussion on who we will get to do Carnival Rides–August 11, 1988.
Motion to sell T-Shirts for $5.00 each.
Motion to give the Gibson County Fairgrounds the pageant stages.
The Labor Day Party will be held Oct. 15, 1988 at the Lion’s Club in Lynnville, Indiana.
Marilyn Moore made the background banner with the logo “Union Yes”.
Bill Battrum took over as President for Fred Kerstein.
1988 Labor Day Queen
Stephanie Cox, 17 years old of Petersburg, Indiana.
Queen Pageant Committee
Jeff Chapman, United Mine Workers of America # 9926
Gary Fritz, United Mine Workers of America # 9926
Randy & Linda Bruner, United Mine Workers of America # 9926
Bill Neff, United Mine Workers of America # 9926
Debbie Fritz, United Mine Workers of America # 9926
Marilyn Moore,
Queen Judges
Mike Rupprecht
Janet Haley
Rufus Cochran
Parade Awards
Best Attendance under 100 – UMWA # 1038
Best Band Award – Princeton High School
Presdent’s Award – Wood Memorial High School
John L. Lewis Award – UMWA # 1189
UMWA International Tony Kujawk Award – UMWA # 1797
Best Dressed – UMWA # 4343
Best Float – UMWA # 4343
Best Marching Unit Award – IBEW # 16
Mayor’s Award – UMWA # 5179
UMWA Attendance Award – Loving Cup – UMWA # 5179
1988 Parade Line-Up
Gibson County Sheriff
Princeton, Indiana VFW # 1147 Color Gaurd
Princeton City Police
Princeton City Fire Department
Gibson County Rescue Truck
Grand Marshall Evan Bayh
Parade Marshall-Princeton Mayor- George Taylor
Princeton Mayor Frank Wade
Princeton City Council
Labor Day Association Officers
President-Bill Battron
Vice President- David Hunt
Treasurer-Curt Duncan
Recording Secretary-Sherman Rector
UMWA District Officers
Princeton City Street Department
Princeton City Sewer Department
Princeton City Water Department
TAZ II (Monster Truck-Mike Deputy)
Indiana 8th District Congressman-Frank McCloskey
Gibson County Democrats
Princeton High School Band
Labor Day Association Queen’s Float
A. Queen-Stephanie Cox
B. 1st Runner up-Julie Willis
C. 2nd Runner up-Misty Weisheit
D. Miss Congeniality-Joey Hamilton
E. Little Miss-Shauna Parsons
F.1st Runner up-Jennifer Collins
G. 2nd Runner up-Anisha Youngblood
Labor Day Association Queen Pageant Contestants
Wasbash Valley Coal Miners Respiratory Clinic
WRAY Radio Station
St. Francisville American Legion Post # 947
American Legion Post # 25 & Aux of Princeton, Indiana
Road Earls II Car Club
Pike County Old Time Car Club
Wish Upon A Star
UMWA Local # 1791
Tecumseh High School Band
UMWA Local # 9926
A.Gabriel Ingram
B. Lois Carter
UMWA Local # 1189
A. Cheyenne Carter
UMWA Local # 1907
A. Christy Knight
Wood Memorial Marching Band
UMWA Local # 5179
A. Melissa Golden
Pike Central Marching Band
UMWA Local # 4343
Princeton Jaycees
Tri City Gymnastics
WYNG Radio Station Critter
Elberfeld, Indiana American Legion Aux
A. Little Miss Poppy-Trishka Oeth
B. Miss Poppy-Jennifer Epley
Gibson County Sheriff’s Department
A. Officer McGruff the Crime Dog
B. Vince & Larry the seatbelt Crash Dummies
Model A 1930 Ford 4 door-Jim & Paula Key
Model A 1929 Ford tudor Sedan-Gerald & Trudy Bledsoe
1950 Ford-Joe Clarke
Jim Minnis cycle collection
1968 Oldsmobile-Carole Sutton Miller
Model T 1926 Ford-Lee & Norma Willis
Sheet Metal Workers Local # 20
IBEW Local # 16
Painters Local # 156
Operating Engineers Local # 181
Southern Indiana District Council of Carpenters
IAM Local # 2717
UTU Local # 490
Dale Davis-Roll out truck bed of Boonville, Indiana
Glaziers Local # 1385
Miss Pike County-Kelly Riesenbeck
Miss Sweet Corn-Suzanne Hunley
1st runner up-Diana Fulk
2nd runner up-Erica Hume
Miss Congeniality-
Little Miss Sweet Corn-Ashley Buck
Little Mister Kernel-Derek Willis
Little Miss Watermelon–Kimberely Hale
Miss Warrick County-Julie Fuller
Little Miss Hertiage-Jessica Powers
Warrick County Shrine Klowns
Warrick County Shrine White Horse Patrol
Gibson County Shrine Motor Patrol
Dubois County Shrine Motor Patrol
Hadi Shrine Motor Corps of Evansville, Indiana
Ainad Motor Patrol
40/8 Voiture # 471
40/8 Voiture # 813
Holiday Queen-Michelle Reavis
Odd Fellow Lodge IOOF 308
Gibson County Republicans
Warrick County Republican for Commissioner-Ralph Brunner
Small’s Bicycle World Freestyle Team
Mike Crabtree Trucking
Seedtick Boys & Girls 4-H Club
Mt. Olympus 4-H Club
Fulton Sales & Service
Denny Brown and Horse
Jackson Automotive
Page Excavating
Gibson County Farm Burean CO-OP
Crossfire Band of Oakland City, Indiana
Ules Slinker Advertising
First Church of the Nazarene
Fulton Appliance
Bob Winters of Patoka, Indiana, Move-a-Tree
Vincennes University
Gibson County Soil & Water Conservation
Odd Fellows of Oakland City, Indiana
A. B. Cox bassboat
Cozy Cove Restaurant
Mac’s Garage
Antique Tractors
Columbia Church wagon
64 Auto Parts & Service
Lynnville Saddle Club Horses
Audit Committee Curt Duncan
David Hunt
Nancy Lutz, Ladies Aux United Mine Workers of America # 1189
Negotiating Committee Curt Duncan
Dave Hunt
Fred Kerstein
Gary Foley, United Mine Workers of America # 1189
Mike Byers
Vaughn Tooley
1988 Labor Day Association Delegates & Guests
Bobby Joe Smith, Aluminum, Brick & Glassworkers # 104
Charlie Wyatt, Aluminum, Brick & Glassworkers # 104
Donnie Copeland, Aluminum, Brick & Glassworkers # 104
John Harris, Aluminum, Brick & Glassworkers # 104
Tommie Blaylock, Aluminum, Brick & Glassworkers # 104
Terry Bennett, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers # 16
Mark Tooley, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers # 16
Gary Foley, United Mine Workers of America # 1189
Greg Perigo, United Mine Workers of America # 1189
Richard Salee, United Mine Workers of America # 1189
John Maikranz, United Mine Workers of America # 1791
Bill Neff, United Mine Workers of America # 9926
Gary Fritz, United Mine Workers of America # 9926
Jeff Chapman, United Mine Workers of America # 9926
Randy Bruner, United Mine Workers of America # 9926
Bobby Taylor,
Bruce Tremper,
Curt Duncan
David Hunt
DeWayne Johnson
Fred Kerstein
Leonard Day
Mike Byers
Vaughn Tooley


137th Labor Day Celebration starts in: