1995 Labor Day Association History
We will again have a 1 hour TV show on Channel 7 featuring the Parade.
The theme for 1995 is “America Works When You Buy Union”.
The Indiana Labor News will do an article about The Labor Day Association’s beginnings. On May 13, 1995 the present Officers and Delegates will meet at the old Railroad Depot, in Princeton, Indiana. The same Depot the 1st Union members gathered at in 1886 prior to the 1st Labor Day Parade. They are going to take a picture of the Officers at the train depot, for the paper.
Parade Co-Grand Marshalls are Joe Hart & Ernie Porter.
President Bobby Joe Smith gave Jane Wyatt a plaque for her hard work and dedication to the Labor Day Association.
Mike Faries will do the photos for the 1995 Celebration.
Larry Coland will video in super VHS for the Celebration.
Diamond Tees of Evansville, IN will do both the Volunteer T-shirts and the commemorative T-shirts.
Shuttle Buses will run from the start of the Parade to the Fairgrounds; 7:00am to Noon on Monday.
D & P Amusement of Newburgh, IN will provide the Carnival Rides.
Market & Company placed Radio and TV ads.
Darren Birge – Moto Cross Announcer
Labor Day Association Dues are $2.00 per working Member.
1995 Labor Day Queen
Jamie Orrel, 16 Years old of Princeton, IN.
1995 Parade Awards
Mayor’s Award – IBEW # 1393
Parade Marshall’s Award – Plumber’s & Steamfitters #136
Parade Chairman’s Award – IBEW # 16
President’s Award – ABGWIU # 104
Attendance Over 100 Award – UMWA # 9926
Attendance Under 100 Award – Painters # 156
Motor Vehicle Award – Teamsters # 215
Labor Day Award – Sheet Metal Workers # 20
Labor Day Association Award – Carpenters # 90
Best Commercial Float Award – GCWIU # 571M
Best Band Award – Princeton Marching Band
Best Marching Unit Award – ABGWIU # 104
John L. Lewis Award – UMWA # 5179
Veterans’s Award Warrick County Teachers Association
Armed Forced Award – Iron Workers # 103
Parade Line-Up
Princeton City Police Dept.
Gibson County Sheriff Dept.
Princeton Area Firefighters Local # 1634
Gibson County Ambulance Service
VFW # 1147 Color Guard
WRAY FM-98.1
Labor Day Association Officers
President-Bobby Joe Smith
Vice President-Bob Lacey
Treasurer-Charlie Wyatt
Recording Secretary-Neil Riley
Princeton Mayor-George Taylor
Co-Grand Marshalls
Ernie Porter & Joe Hart
Labor Day Association Float
LDA Queen-Jamie Orrel
LDA Queen Pageant 1st runnerup-Holly Thompson
LDA Miss Congeniality-April Lubbenhusen
LDA Jr. Miss (ages 9-11) Julie Briody
LDA Jr. Miss (ages 12-15) Jana Rembe
LDA Little Miss-Brittany Michelle Mayes
LDA Little Mister-Erick Bemis
UMWA District Officers;
Gary Wheaton-Secretary Treasurer, Greg Young, Jim Heck, Steve Bottoms & Tony Schmit
Princeton High School Marching Band
IBEW Local # 16
IBEW Local # 16-Little Miss Candidate-Megan Adams
UMWA Local # 9926
Tecumseh High School Marching Band
UMWA Local # 11
UMWA Local # 1907
IBEW Local # 1393
UMWA Local # 5179
IBEW Local # 702
IBEW Local # 1395
Pike Central High School Marching Band
Sheet Metal Workers Local # 20
Plumbers & Steam Fitters Local # 136
Southern Indiana District Council of Carpenters
Glass Molders & Pottery Workers Local # 349
Glaziers Local # 1385
Amalgamated Transit Workers Local # 878
Laborers Local # 561
Aluminum Brick & Glass Workers Local # 104
Wood Memorial High School Marching Band
Cement Masons Local # 566
Cement Masons Local # 692
Painters Local # 156
Asbestos Workers Local # 37
UMWA Local # 1189
Boonville High School Marching Band
Unity Team AFT/UAW Local # 9212
Operating Engineers Local # 181
United Transportation Union Local # 490
United Rubber Workers Local # 331
UAW Local # 2074
UMWA Local # 1038
National Association of Letter Carriers Local # 377
Elevator Constructors Local # 61
Teamsters Local # 215
UMWA Local # 352
United Paperworkers Local # 1046
Iron Workers Local # 103
AFSCME Local # 3731
UMWA Local # 1791
United Food & Commercial Workers Local # 1431
Bricklayers Local # 4
Warrick County Teachers Association
UMWA Local # 4011
VFW # 3418 of Boonville, Indiana
Gibson County Democrat Central Committee
Warrick County Democrat Central Committee
Pike County Democrat Central Committee
Spencer County Democrat Central Committee
Vanderburgh County Democrat Central Committee
Wabash Valley Coal Miners Clinic
Tri State Food Bank
WYNG FM-105.3
Mac’s Garage of Oakland City, Indiana
Elks Lodge-1180 of Boonville, Indiana
Gibson County Historical Society
Duster the Klown
Dubois County 40 & 8 Voiture # 813
Gibson County Soil & Water Conservation District
McGregor Trucking-a 1946 K-5 International of Winslow, Indiana
Soul Stompers Drill Team
Lester Menke-1924 Model T Ford express wagon
Miss Gibson County-Mindi Mitchell
Miss Gibson County-1st runnerup-JamieOrrel
Jr. Miss of Chandler, Indiana-Whitney Knight
Miss Spencer County-Shandalyn Fuller
Miss Jr. America-Amber Lynn Miles
Little Miss Sweet Corn-Bryna Bennett
Gibson County Shriners
Nile Deputy & David Rafferty-Upside down bicycles
Indiana Army National Guard
WBKR FM-92.5
Sha-Donna’s Unique Styling
Silver Spur Dance Club
Catfish Festival Queen-(1994) Hillerie Welch
Little Miss Golden Heritage Days-Kyla marie Mitchell
Newburgh Fiddler Fest Queen-
Gibson County CO-OP
Gibson County Antique Machinery Association
Gibson County American Red Cross
Indiana Black Lung Association
Gibson County Hospital
Bethel Memorial Church
Colvin Funeral Home
Ron Keller-Tennessee Walking Horse
Knights of Columbus of Princeton, Indiana
National Cover Boy USA-Austin Smith (15 months old)
Spencer County 4-H Princess-Jenny Bays
Warrick County 4-H Queen-April Wagner
Elberfeld American Legion Jr. Aux-Miss Poppy-Christina Freeman
Elberfeld American Legion Jr. Aux-Jr. Miss Poppy-Brandy Laslowitz
Elberfeld American Legion Jr. Aux-Mini Miss Poppy-Marissa Feagley
Gibson County Road Runners Camping Club
Bread of Life Ministries of Lynnville, Indiana
Dave Bush-1966 Cadillac Convertible
Buckeye Donkey baseball team
Bill Conner-Mayoral candidate
Kenneth Boyd-mule team wagon
Gibson County Republicans
1995 Labor Day Association Delegates
Aluminum, Brick and Glass Workers # 104
Bobby Joe Smith
Charlie Wyatt
Mike Austin
Donnie Copeland
Ed Brady
Lee Rogier
Terry Payne
Cement Mason # 692
Gary Engelhart
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers # 16
Paul Green
Terry Bennett
Mike Herron
Larry Scott
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers # 702
Bill Bennett
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers # 1393
Mark Norton
Charlie Reed
Ironworkers # 103
Billy Garrett
Sheet Metal Workers # 20
Mark Riley
Neil Riley
United Mine Workers of America # 1189
Alan Elzer
Leon Oxley
United Mine Workers of America # 5179
Steve “Gunpowder” Miller
United Auto Workers & American Federation of Teachers # 9212
Julie Spitznagel
History Committee Bobby Joe Smith, Aluminum, Brick and Glass Workers # 104
Mark Riley, Sheet Metal Workers # 20
Don Nichols, Graphic Communication Workers International Union # 571M
Neil Riley, Sheet Metal Workers # 20
Audit Committee Bob Lacey, Graphic Communication Workers International Union # 571M
Terry Bennett, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers # 16
Mark Riley, Sheet Metal Workers # 20
Meeting Schedule for 1995
Jan 9, 1995
GCIU # 571M
Labor Temple
Feb 15, 1995
Sheet Metal # 20
Mar 13, 1995
Laborers # 561
Apr 10, 1995
UMWA # 1189
May 8, 1995
IronWorkers # 103
Jun 12, 1995
ABGWIU # 104
Jul 10, 1995
UMWA # 5179
Oakland City
Aug 7, 1995
GCIU # 571M
Labor Temple
Aug 14, 1995
IBEW # 16
Labor Temple
Aug 21, 1995
Princeton Area Fire Fighters # 1634
Fire Station
Aug 28, 1995
Gibson Co. Fairgrounds
Sep 11, 1995
ABGWIU # 104
Oct 9, 1995
Sheet Metal # 20
Nov 13, 1995
UMWA # 1189
Dec 11, 1995
UMWA # 5179
Oakland City


137th Labor Day Celebration starts in: