1930 Labor Day Association History
Weather – Good
Attendance – 40,000
McClellan Shows and Carnival will provide entertainment for the Labor Day Celebration.
Radio Electronic Amplifiers of St. Louis, Mo. Will provide the speaker system for the fairgrounds.
Henry J. Fritz of Princeton, Indiana is the Chief Parade Marshall
The Parade judges will be seated on the Free Acts platform in the arena.
Window Contest judging will start at the Public Square going 1 block each way starting at 7:00 AM.
No Labor Organization will have concessions at the fairgrounds over Labor Day. All concessions will be operated by individuals and no Labor body will be sold space it was declared at the Labor Day Association meeting held at the Princeton C. L. U.
The Celebration will happen after the Gibson County Fair. The Red Cross and Methodist Hospital tents will remain on the fairgrounds after the fair is over.
The Parade silver loving cup for best representatation by a Union mine will permanently go to the Local that wins it 3 times.
Labor Day Association held meetings in Oakland City, Spurgeon, Winslow and Princeton, Indiana.
Locals from Oakland City, Somerville, Mackey, Buckskin and Elberfeld will travel after the Princeton Parade to Dale Indiana for another Parade. This one is called the Good Roads Parade and was honoring Albert J. Wedeking who was on the Indiana State Hwy. Commission. Mr. Wedeking was instrumental in getting Indiana Hwy. 57 built.
1930 Parade Route
Start at Main & Waters Street
North to Broadway
West to Hart
East to Main
North on Main to Spruce
West on Spruce
North on Embree to Fairgrounds
Parade Line-Up
Princeton American Legion Band
Henry J. Fritz–Chief Parade Marshall
Labor Day Association Officers;
President–Elmer Whitman
Vice President–Andrew Witherow
Treasurer–Dale Skelton
Recording Secretary–Thomas Elsfelder
Princeton C. L. U. float
Boonville C. L U. float
Princeton Mayor–O. T. Brazelton
Princeton City Officials
Speaker Carriages;
Judge Claude A. Smith
T. N. Taylor
Martin F. Ryan
William Mitch
Brett Jewell
Fred N. Aten
M. Cliff Townsend
Carpenters # 935
Carpenters # 694
Carpenters # 732
Jasper Legion Band
Electrical Workers # 376
Brick Masons #
Painters # 444
Plasterers # 114
Shop Crafts Unions
Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen & Oilers # 506 Float
Railway Machinists # 543
Boilermakers # 334
Blacksmiths # 208
Boonville Band
UMWA # 5122
Petersburg Band
UMWA # 5604
UMWA # 5423
UMWA # 1244
UMWA # 3457
UMWA # 3437
Patoka Band
UMWA # 5584
UMWA # 3345
UMWA # 114
UMWA # 352
UMWA # 1396
UMWA # 5179
Spurgeon Band
UMWA # 4149
UMWA # 4343
UMWA # 5065
UMWA # 2777
Ft. Branch Band
UMWA Ladies Auxiliary # 5
UMWA # 187
UMWA # 1094
UMWA # 1875
Printers # 488
Butchers # 246
Hooiser Steam Calliopes
Barbers # 751
Bakers # 280
Farm Bureau Farmers
Hooiser Steam Calliopes
Parade Judges
for Union Floats Harold Chapell of Oakland City, Indiana
Henry J. Maurer of Boonville, Indiana
Rudolph Hillman of Princeton, Indiana
Parade Judges for Window Displays
George Martin of Boonville, Indiana
Theodore Kays of Princeton, Indiana
Arch Smith of Princeton, Indiana
Speaker Reception Committee
Elmer Whitman of Princeton, Indiana
Andrew Witherow of Oakland City, Indiana
Howard Haarvey of Princeton, Indiana
Thomas J. Davis of Princeton, Indiana
Speaker Committee
Virgil W. Compton of Princeton, Indiana
Henry J. Fritz of Princeton, Indiana
Frank D. Turbor of Princeton, Indiana
Parade Awards
1st Place Union Float–$50–UMWA # 352
2nd Place Union Float–$25–Shop crafts
1st Place Largest Attendance –UMWA # 5179
2nd Place Largest Attendance–UMWA # 352
Miners Silver Loving Cup for highest percentage in Attendance;
UMWA # 2777 had 169 out of 170 members present.
1st Place Business Float–$50–J. C. Penny of Princeton, Indiana
2nd Place Business Float–$25–Style Shop of Princeton, Indiana
1st Place Farmers Float–$15–
2nd Place Farmers Float–$10–
1st Place Window Display–Alva Levi Store


137th Labor Day Celebration starts in: