1927 Labor Day Association History
Attendance -30,000
The Celebration will be held during the Gibson County Fair on Monday.
Indiana Governor, Ed Jackson issued his annual Labor Day Proclamination designating Labor Day a legal holiday.
On August 26 a meeting was called at the C. L. U. Hall in Petersburg, IN. to draw for Parade positions. Also discussed were ways to raise money to pay for the Celebration.
Speaker Committee Chairman–Thomas Elsfelder of Princeton, IN.
There are plans to have the Celebration filmed for a movie feature.
James Crandall is the Horseshoe Pitch Director
The curb poles lining the streets have decorations on them making the city very colorfuf and festive
A Judges stand is erected on the fairgrounds and all units will pass for review in the arena.
Amplifiers have been ordered from Mt. Vernon, IL for the speeches to be heard through the fairgrounds.
There aren’t any charges for the events and there isn’t a charge to enter the Fairgrounds
Cash Prizes will be given out for floats and a loving cup will be given to the union will the highest number of members in the Parade.
The Parade had over 100 entries.
Chief Parade Marshall-Henry J. Fritz was attired in all white with a red sash. He rode a white horse with a wreath around its neck–it was furnished by Princeton Gardens.
1927 Parade Route
Up Main to Public Square
West on Broadway to Hart
North on Hart to State
East on State to Main
North on Main to Spruce
West on Spruce to fairgrounds
Parade Awards
1st Place for Unions—$30–UMWA # 5179 of Oakland City, IN.
2nd Place for Unions–$20–Boilermakers # 334 of Princeton, IN.
Loving Cup for UMWA Locals–UMWA # 5179 of Oakland City, IN.
1st Place for Farmers–$30–Patoka Township
1st Place for Business—$30–Tip Top Creamery of Princeton, IN.
2nd Place for Business–$20–Allen A Wilkerson Lumber Co. of Princeton, IN.
1927 Parade Lineup
Color Guard
Chief Parade Marshall-Henry F. Fritz
Assistant-Virgil W. Compton
Assistant-Oscar Reinhart
Labor Day Association Officers;
President–Rufus McGillem
Vice President–
Treasurer–Dale Skelton
Recording Secretary–Ray Lewis
Petersburg Band
Princeton C. L. U.
Princeton Mayor-William S. Ennes
Princeton City Council
Speakers Carriages;
Dale A. Eby
William H. Settle
Thomas Elsfelder
Emil Seidel
Adolph J. Fritz
Judge Claude A. Smith
1st Division
Princeton Firefighters
Princeton Police
Petersburg Band
Spurgeon Band
Meat Cutters # 246
Boonville Band
UMWA # 3457
UMWA # 5179
UMWA # 2410
UMWA # 3345
UMWA # 5178
UMWA # 5584
UMWA # 551
UMWA # 3451
UMWA # 4149
UMWA # 352
UMWA # 2777
2nd Division
Barbers Union # 751
Farm Bureau
Printers # 488
Carpenters Union # 935
Carpenters Union # 732
Carpenters Union # 782
Painters # 444
Patoka Band
Plasterers Union # 114
Electrial Workers Union # 876
Shop Crafts Unions
Sheet Metal Workers Unionn # 96
Blacksmihs Union
Boilermakers # 334
Brotherhood of Firemen & Helpers # 238
Loyal Star Lodge Auxillary of Carmen’s Union
Machinists Union # 543
Railroad Carmen Union # 13
3rd Division
Radio Shop
Rothchild Laundry
White Lumber Company
Princeton Bottle Works
Tip Top Creamery
Pfohl Ambulance
Salavation Army
Premier Refining Company
Maytag Washer Company
Roxanna Oil Company
Allen A. Wilkinson Lumber
Style Shop
Brammer Brothers of Spurgeon, IN.
Greek Brothers
Ayrshire Coal Company
Lance Coal Company
Boy Scouts Troop # 1 of Winslow
Bread Trucks
Business floats
Parade Judges Parade Judges;
Lee Thompson–Chairman
Guy Delott
William Bryant
John Wright
William Calmbach
Alternate Judges
Pap Barton
Curtis Thompson
Ralph Burton
George Powell


137th Labor Day Celebration starts in: