Parade awards

Continued from Page 9

awarded to any union unit.

18. Roy H. Mabrey Award: Named for a past president of both IBEW Local #16 and the Southwestern Indiana Central Labor Council. He died on Labor Day, Sept. 1, 1997 after marching and participating in his local union's activities. The winner is always a union unit.

19. Tommie A. Blaylock Award: Named for a former USWA Local #104 Business Agent who was also an Indiana AFL-CIO State Vice-President and ABG International Vice-President and Chairman of Local #104 Political Action Committee. He died Dec. 1, 1996. The winner is always a union unit.

20. Gary Wheaton Award: Named for a former UMWA Local #9926 President who also served as a UMWA International Safety Representative, UMWA District Secretary Treasurer and Labor Day Parade Chairman for the Labor Day Association. He died on Aug. 1, 1998. The winner is always a union unit.

21. Gary Fritz Award: Named for a long -term mainstay of our organization who has been instrumental in preserving the Labor Dav Association's history. He was a member of UMWA Local #9926, served as the UMWA International Deputy of Organizing, a former Labor Day President and now works for the SEIU. The winner is always a union unit.

22. Veteran's Award: The winner is deemed to be the best veteran's unit.

23. Armed Forces Award: The winner is deemed the best active armed forces unit.

The Parade Awards Committee selects the winners of awards 8 through 23. They are available to help anyone responsible for selecting a winner who requests assistance.

Awards will be announced at 1 p.m. Monday at the Gibson County Fairgrounds office.

Please note:

Participants in the 121st Annual Labor Day Parade should arrive between 6 and 8 a.m. to ensure all units are included in the Parade lineup. Judging will begin at 7:30 a.m. The theme for this year is "Anchoring the American Dream — Labor Unions."

The Parade is set to begin at 9 a.m., starting out from the intersection of Hart and Broadway streets in Princeton. It runs for approximately 2 hours. Because of the length, units will not be allowed to stop and perform along the parade route, except in front of the reviewing stand.

There will be no parking allowed along the staging areas, and only vehicles that will participate in the Parade will be allowed along the parade route. Free parking is available at the Gibson County Fairgrounds, where shuttle buses will operate from 6 a.m. to noon. The buses will run to and from the start of the Parade.

Every effort has been made and will continue to be made to make the Parade enjoyable for the participants, as well as provide entertainment for the crowd.

Laborers' International Union of North America Local Union 561

BARRY L. RUSSELL

President & Business Manager

DONALD ANGEL

Vice President & Field Representative

HARLIN D. SCOTT

Secretary-Treasurer Field Representative

KENNETH D. OVERTON

Recording Secretary & Field Representative

STEPHEN M. WILSON Field Representative

951 North Park Drive, Evansville, IN 47710



812 425 3191

EXECUTIVE BOARD:

Marvin Kolb Jon Rowley Don Lemp

AUDITORS:

James Neisen Chad Lacer Adam McCormick

SGT-AT-ARMS Kenneth Taylor

Toll Free 1 888 463 8646 (1 888 HOD UNION)